Manage Security Groups

Groups that are created under ADD System Administration will appear on the Manage Security page.

 

This page contains the following content:

Related pages:

Create a New Security Group

Complete the following steps to create a new security group:

  1. Choose Case Management from the ADDAutomated Digital Discovery main menu.

  2. In the left pane of the Case Management page, click Manage Security.

  3. Click to open the Add Group page.

  4. Enter a meaningful group name (minimum of two characters) in the Group Name field (the red asterisk, *, indicates required entries).

  5. Select a user from the users’ list and click to add the user to the group. Active users have a green dot by their name. Inactive users have a gray dot next to their name.

    Note: To add all users to the group, click . Click to remove all users from the group and back into the users’ list. Select a user and click to remove that user from the group.

  6. Repeat the previous step for all additional users who should be added to the group. Note: To locate a user quickly, enter their name in the Search field.

  7. When all users are added to the group, click Save. Note: Click Save & Add Another to remain in the Add Group page to add another group and its users.

Work with Security Groups

The security groups are shown in alphabetical order on the Manage Security page. Each security group shows the number of users and contains a menu as shown in this figure.

Security groups may be edited (modify group name, add/delete users in the group, or delete the group).

The groups are the same in both Eclipse and ADD. Any changes made in ADD will be reflected in Eclipse; such as permissions, access, etc.

Modify an Existing Security Group Name

Complete the following steps to modify an existing security group:

  1. Choose Case Management from the ADD main menu.

  2. In the left pane of the Case Management page, click Manage Security.

  3. Point to on the desired group; and when the mouse pointer changes to a hand, click to open the menu.

  4. Choose Edit Group to open the Edit Group page.

  5. Click located to the left of the group name.

  6. Replace the current group name with the new group name.

  7. Click to save the new group name.

Modify a Group’s Users

Complete the following steps to add/remove users who are associated with a group:

  1. Choose Case Management from the ADD main menu.

  2. In the left pane of the Case Management page, click Manage Security.

  3. Point to on the desired group; and when the mouse pointer changes to a hand, click to open the menu.

  4. Choose Edit Group to open the Edit Group page.

  5. Select a user from the users’ list and click to add the user to the group. Active users have a green dot by their name. Inactive users have a gray dot next to their name.

    Note: To add all users to the group, click . Click to remove all users from the group and back into the users’ list. Select a user and click to remove that user from the group.

  6. Repeat the previous step for all additional users who should be added to the group. Note: To locate a user quickly, enter their name in the Search field.

  7. When all users are added to the group, click Save.

  8. Inform users of changes and explain their new responsibilities.

Delete an Existing Security Group

Note: All users will lose their permissions who are related to the deleted group’s associated contexts such as managing client, client, and case(s).

Complete the following steps to delete a security group:

  1. Choose Case Management from the ADD main menu.

  2. In the left pane of the Case Management page, click Manage Security.

  3. Point to on the desired group; and when the mouse pointer changes to a hand, click to open the menu.

  4. Choose Edit Group to open the Edit Group page.

  5. Click . A prompt appears indicating all the group’s users will lose their permissions.

  6. Click OK in response to the confirmation message.

Deleted users who are logged in to any ADD product when you delete them will remain active until they log out (or the product times out). After that point, they will not be recognized by any ADD product.