Edit Groups and Users Assigned to a Case

Add or Remove Groups Assigned to a Case

To add or remove groups who can view a case and/or take part in batch reviews:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Administration module.

  2. Click the Case Management drop down and then click Case Management.

    The Case Management area displays.

  3. Select a Client and Case.

  4. Click the Groups tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. On the toolbar above the Groups area click the Edit button.

  6. In the Modify Group Assignments dialog box, select/clear the groups to be added/removed.

  7. When finished, click OK.

  8. If needed, change the case/group role and privileges, which will be in effect while the group is working in the selected case, as explained in the next procedure.

Edit Case/Group Role or Privileges

A role and/or privileges can be assigned to a group that will be in effect only when the group is working on a specific case. For details on how Case Management selects the role/privileges to be in effect, see Control System Access Using Groups, Users, Roles, and Privileges. To set a case/group role and/or privileges:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Administration module.

  2. Click the Case Management drop down and then click Case Management.

    The Case Management area displays.

  3. Select a Client and Case.

  4. Click the Groups and Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. In the Groups list, right-click the group and select Modify Role and Privileges on the context menu.

  6. In the Modify Privileges dialog box, select the role, then add or remove individual privileges if needed.

  7. When finished, click OK.

Clear Case/Group Role or Privileges

If a case/group role and/or privileges have been assigned to a group for a specific case, the settings can be removed. For details on how Case Management selects the role/privileges to be in effect, see How Does Case Management Determine Privileges? to clear a case/group role and/or privileges:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Administration module.

  2. Click the Case Management drop down and then click Case Management.

    The Case Management area displays.

  3. Select a Client and Case.

  4. Click the Groups and Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. In the list of assigned groups, right-click the group and select Clear Role and Privileges on the context menu. The group’s case role changes to (not set).

Set or Clear Member Role or Privileges

A role and/or privileges can be assigned to a user that will be in effect only when the user is working as a group member on a particular case. The Case Management workspace lists all group members; view their role and privileges as explained in Review a User’s Role or Privileges.

Add or Remove Users Assigned to a Case

To add or remove users who can view and/or take part in batch reviews:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Administration module.

  2. Click the Case Management drop down and then click Case Management.

    The Case Management area displays.

  3. Select a Client and Case.

  4. Click the Groups and Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. Click in the Users area.

  6. In the Modify Case/User Assignments dialog box, select/clear the users to be added/removed.

  7. When finished, click OK.

  8. If needed, change the case/user role and privileges, which will be in effect while the user is working in the selected case, as explained in the next procedure.

Change Case/User Role or Privileges

A role and/or privileges can be assigned to a user that will be in effect only when the user is working on a specific case. For details on how Case Management selects which role/privileges are in effect, see How Does Case Management Determine Privileges?

Set a Case/User Role or Privileges

To set a user’s case/user role and/or privileges:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Administration module.

  2. Click the Case Management drop down and then click Case Management.

    The Case Management area displays.

  3. Select a Client and Case.

  4. Click the Groups and Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. In the Users list, right-click the user name and select Modify Role and Privileges on the context menu.

  6. In the Modify Privileges dialog box, select the role, then add or remove individual privileges if needed.

  7. When finished, click OK.

Clear a Case/User role or privileges

If a case/user role and/or privileges have been assigned to a user for a specific case, the settings can be removed. To clear a user’s case role/privileges:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Administration module.

  2. Click the Case Management drop down and then click Case Management.

    The Case Management area displays.

  3. Select a Client and Case.

  4. Click the Groups and Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. In the Users list, right-click the user and select Clear Role and Privileges on the context menu. The user’s case role changes to (not set).

Review a User’s Role or Privileges

To clarify the role and privileges that a particular user has (whether the user is a member of a group that is assigned to a case or is assigned individually), complete the following steps:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Administration module.

  2. Click the Case Management drop down and then click Case Management.

    The Case Management area displays.

  3. Select a Client and Case.

  4. Click the Groups and Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. Select the user of interest:

    1. To review the case access for a user who is a member of a group, click the group in the Groups area, then click the user’s name in the Members of groupname area (where groupname is the name of the group you selected).

    2. To review the case access for a user who has been individually added to a case, click the user’s name in the Users area.

  6. Click View > Case Access in the appropriate part of the workspace (Users or Members of groupname) of the workspace. A summary of the user’s case access and privileges display in the User Case Access dialog box, as shown in the following figure:

  7. See How Does Case Management Determine Privileges? to review Case Management security.

    Note:

    • Scroll in the window to see all privileges.

    • If the user has multiple settings, privileges are additive, and the cumulative privileges will be listed.

    • If the user has access by virtue of being in more than one assigned group, then the combined set of privileges is listed.

  8. When finished, click Close Window.

 

Related Topics

Overview: Edit Cases