Assign Permissions

Administrators have the ability to assign permissions to a group. These permissions then filter down to all users assigned to that group. Users cannot be assigned permissions directly, but rather inherit the permissions that have been set at the group level.

The sections in this topic describe the steps you can take to assign permissions to a new group, modify the permissions of an existing group, or override the permissions for a particular case. These procedures are completed in the System Manager. To learn how to create a new group or modify an existing group, see Create New Groups and/or Edit a Group, respectively.

For a full list of permissions available in Enterprise, see Permissions List.

Assign Permissions to a New Group

Complete the following steps to assign permissions to a new group:

  1. Click the Settings icon in the top-right corner of the screen. The Settings icon is a global button that displays in every module of the Enterprise platform.
  2. The System Manager opens. In the left pane of the System Manager, click Groups.

  1. Click the button at the top of the screen. The Create New Group page opens.

  2. Complete step 1 of the wizard by choosing options and defining fields in the Setup Group Details page. For more information about this step, see Create New Groups. When finished, click Next to proceed to the next step.
  3. On the Assign Users step, select the users you would like to assign to the new group. Selected users are highlighted in blue. To assign all users to the group, click Select All in the top-right corner of the box. To search for individual users, click the icon, then type the name in the search bar. When all needed users have been selected, click Next.
  4. On the Set Permissions step, choose one of the following options:

    • Use Existing - Select this option to choose a pre-existing security template with group permissions already configured, or to assign permissions from scratch.
    • Copy from Group - Select this option to use the permission set of an existing group as a template for the group you're adding. All permissions assigned to the existing group will be applied to the new group. You can then tweak the permissions as needed to suit the new group.
  5. If you selected the first option, Use Existing, you can either assign permissions from scratch or select a security template with permissions already defined. If selecting a security template, choose the appropriate option from the Template Name dropdown. These templates, which must be created ahead of time, come with permissions already configured. For more information on security templates, see Overview: Security Templates.

    To assign permissions manually, expand the needed section (Case Management, Media and Data, Search and Review, Reports, or System), then click the check box beside each permission you would like to provide the group. You can select all permissions in a given section by clicking the slide bar to the right of the section name. Additionally, you can clear all permissions in a given section by clicking the slider once again. In certain places, permissions can be selected from a drop-down menu. To learn more about the list of available permissions, see Permissions List. When finished assigning all permissions, click Next.

  6. If you selected the second option on the Set Permissions step, Copy from Group, you can choose the existing group whose permissions you would like to copy. Click the Group Name dropdown, then select the appropriate group from the list. The permission set will update automatically to reflect the configuration of the chosen group. You can then tweak the permissions manually to suit the new group. Expand the needed sections (Case Management, Media and Data, Search and Review, Reports, or System), then click the check box beside each permission you would like to provide the group. You can also remove a permission from the group by clicking on a check box that has already been selected. When finished assigning all permissions, click Next.
  7. On the Assign Cases step, select the cases that you would like to make accessible to the new group. Selected cases are highlighted in blue. To assign the group to all cases, click Select All in the top-right corner of the box. To search for specific cases, click the icon, then type the name of the case in the search bar. When all needed cases have been selected, click Save.

Assign Permissions to an Existing Group

Complete the following steps to modify the permissions of an existing group. For more information, see Edit a Group

  1. Click the Settings icon in the top-right corner of the screen. The Settings icon is a global button that displays in every module of the Enterprise platform.
  2. The System Manager opens. In the left pane of the System Manager, click Groups.

  1. Click on the name of the group you would like to edit. The group profile opens on the right side of the screen.

  2. Click the Edit icon . You are now able to modify the users, permissions, and cases for the selected group.

  3. On the Permissions tab, expand the needed section (Case Management, Media and Data, Search and Review, Reports, or System), then click the check box beside each permission you would like to provide the group. You can also remove a permission from the group by clicking on a check box that has already been selected. To learn more about the list of available permissions, see Permissions List.
  4. Click Save.

  5. Repeat these steps for all groups needing to be edited.
  6. Inform users of changes and explain their new responsibilities.

Override Permissions on a Case

When a group is assigned to a case, that case "inherits" the group's permissions. Therefore, if a group is assigned permissions A, B, and C, the users in that group will only be allowed to perform actions A, B, and C when working in that case. However, an option exists that allows you to override the permissions for a particular case. For example, let's say a group with permissions A, B, and C have been assigned to four different cases. If you would like that group to have a different set of permissions for Case #3 (e.g., permissions B, C, and E), you can override that case's permissions, then set new permissions to fit the needs of the case in question.

For instructions on how to override permissions on a case, proceed through the following steps:

  1. Click the Settings icon in the top-right corner of the screen. The Settings icon is a global button that displays in every module of the Enterprise platform.
  2. The System Manager opens. In the left pane of the System Manager, click Groups.

  1. Click on the name of the group whose case permissions you would like to edit. The group profile opens on the right side of the screen.

  2. Click on the Cases tab, then locate the cases whose permissions you would like to override. Each case in the list will either display "Permissions Inherited" or "Permissions Overridden."

    • "Permissions Inherited" indicates that the permissions set at the group level will apply to that particular case.
    • "Permissions Overridden" indicates that the permissions set at the group level have been altered for that particular case.
  3. To change the permissions for a specific case, click Override Permissions.
  4. A window pops up with the full list of permissions available in Enterprise. Expand the needed sections (Case Management, Media and Data, Search and Review, Reports, or System), then click the check box beside each permission you would like to provide the group for that case. You can also remove a permission by clicking on a check box that has already been selected. To learn more about the list of available permissions, see Permissions List.
  5. When finished applying permissions, click Save. The case displays "Permissions Overridden" in the System Manager to indicate that changes have been made to the permissions list.

  6. Repeat these steps for all cases with permissions that need to be overridden.

 

Related Topics

Permissions List

Create New Groups

Edit a Group