Edit Groups and Users Assigned to a Case

There are some basic procedures you can complete on the Groups & Users tab in the Edit Case wizard when editing a case. On this tab you can:

Proceed through the following sections to learn more about these procedures, or select one of the links above to jump to the relevant section.

Modify a Group's Case Access

On the Groups & Users tab of the Edit Case wizard, you have the option of adding or removing groups from a case, as well as adjusting the role and/or privileges assigned to groups while working in that case. Review the sections below to learn about the steps you can take to modify a group's case access.

Add or Remove Groups Assigned to a Case

To add or remove groups who can view a case and/or take part in batch reviews:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Case Management module.

  2. In the navigation panel, click the Cases tab.

  3. Locate the case you would like to edit. Double-click on the case to open the Edit Case wizard.

  4. Click the Groups & Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. In the toolbar above the Groups area click the Select Groups button.

  6. In the Select Groups dialog box, select the checkbox beside any group you would like to add to the case. Clear the checkbox for any group you would like to remove. Groups that have been removed from a case can always be reassigned to the case by opening the Select Groups dialog box in the future, and selecting their checkbox again.

    Tip: You can also remove a group from a case by selecting the group from the Groups area in the Groups & Users tab.

    Once selected, click the Remove Group button. Click Yes in the confirmation dialog box to complete the removal.

  7. When finished, click Save.

  8. If needed, change the group's role or privileges for the selected case, as explained in the next procedure.

Edit a Group's Role or Privileges

A role and/or privileges can be assigned to a group that will be in effect only when the group is working on a specific case. For details on how Case Management selects the role/privileges to be in effect, see Control System Access Using Groups, Users, Roles, and Privileges. To set a group's role and/or privileges for a specific case:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Case Management module.

  2. In the navigation panel, click the Cases tab.

  3. Locate the case you would like to edit. Double-click on the case to open the Edit Case wizard.

  4. Click the Groups & Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. In the Groups list, select the group whose role or permissions you would like to modify. Then click the Edit Group button in the toolbar.

  6. In the Edit Group Privileges dialog box, select the role, then add or remove individual privileges if needed. Viewer privileges are divided into several collapsible sections. Click on a section to expand the list of permissions contained inside it.

  7. When finished, click Save.

Modify Users' Case Access

On the Groups & Users tab of the Edit Case wizard, you have the option of adding or removing users from a case, as well as adjusting the role and/or privileges assigned to users while working in that case. Review the sections below to learn about the steps you can take to modify a user's case access.

Add or Remove Users Assigned to a Case

To add or remove users who can view and/or take part in batch reviews:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Case Management module.

  2. In the navigation panel, click the Cases tab.

  3. Locate the case you would like to edit. Double-click on the case to open the Edit Case wizard.

  4. Click the Groups & Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. To add or remove users from the case, click the Select Users button in the toolbar.

  6. In the Select Users dialog box, select the checkbox beside any user you would like to add to the case. Clear the checkbox for any user you would like to remove. Users that have been removed from a case can always be reassigned to the case by opening the Select Users dialog box in the future, and selecting their checkbox again.

    Tip: You can also remove a user from a case by selecting the user from the Users area in the Groups & Users tab.

    Once selected, click the Remove User button. Click Yes in the confirmation dialog box to complete the removal.

  7. When finished, click Save.

  8. If needed, change a user's role and privileges for the selected case, as explained in the next procedure.

Change a User's Role or Privileges

A role and/or privileges can be assigned to a user that will be in effect only when the user is working on a specific case. For details on how Case Management selects which role/privileges are in effect, see How Does Case Management Determine Privileges?

To set a user’s role and/or privileges:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Case Management module.

  2. In the navigation panel, click the Cases tab.

  3. Locate the case you would like to edit. Double-click on the case to open the Edit Case wizard.

  4. Click the Groups & Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. In the Users list, select the user whose role or permissions you would like to modify. Then click the Edit User button in the toolbar.

  6. In the Edit User Privileges dialog box, select the role, then add or remove individual privileges if needed.

  7. When finished, click OK.

Review a User’s Role or Privileges

To clarify the role and privileges that a particular user has (whether the user is a member of a group that is assigned to a case or is assigned individually), complete the following steps:

  1. On the Dashboard, click the Case Management module.

  2. In the navigation panel, click the Cases tab.

  3. Locate the case you would like to edit. Double-click on the case to open the Edit Case wizard.

  4. Click the Groups & Users tab. Groups and users who have been assigned to the case are listed.

  5. Select the user of interest:

    1. To review the case access for a user who is a member of a group, click the group in the Groups area. The list of users assigned to that group appear in the Group Users column. Click the user’s name in that column. Then complete the following step.

    2. To review the case access for a user who has been individually added to a case, click the user’s name in the Users area. Then complete the following step.

  6. With the user selected, click the View Case Access button in the toolbar.

    A summary of the user’s case access and privileges display in the View Case Access dialog box, as shown in the following figure:

  7. See How Does Case Management Determine Privileges? to review Case Management security.

    Note:

    • Scroll in the window to see all privileges.

    • If the user has multiple settings, privileges are additive, and the cumulative privileges will be listed.

    • If the user has access by virtue of being in more than one assigned group, then the combined set of privileges is listed.

  8. When finished, click Close.

 

Related Topics

Overview: Edit Cases